ICC Awards 2015 Winners List: Steven Smith Got Top Awards

ICC Awards 2015 Winners
ICC Awards 2015 Winners

ICC Awards 2015 Winners: The list of winning cricket players for the awards and trophies distributed by the International Council of Cricket has been released. The top awards of the ICC have been fetched by Australia captain Steven Smith for his contribution in the year 2014-15. He got Cricketer of the Year as well as Test Cricketer of the Year. (see: Winners of 2015 Guild Awards.)

The australian captain became the 7th cricket player to bag both the awards in the same year after Rahul Dravid, Jacques Kallis, Ricky Ponting, Kumar Sangakkara, Michael Clarke, and Mitchell Johnson.

Steven Smith said that these awards thrilled him. During an interview, he made a statement that he would be ending this year, i.e., 2015 with mixed feelings. Further, he said that he felt honored for receiving these two despite of having many great players across the globe.

ICC Awards 2015 Winners

He also revealed that his team has been his source of inspiration. The Cricket World Cup trophy at home is his career highlight. But he also stated that he still feel disappointment for losing the ashes tournament this year.

Coming to other trophies, AB de Villiers – the ODI captain for South Africa baged the ODI Cricketer of the Year for the second successive year. His team mate Faf du Plessis was awarded the T20 Performance of the Year award for scoring 119 in just 56 balls against West Indies back in January 2015. Emerging Cricketer of the Year was awarded to Josh Hazlewood, the Australian fast bowler.

Talking about women’s cricket then, the ODI Cricketer of the year and T20 Cricketer of the Year were bagged by the captain of Australia Meg Lanning and the all rounder player for West Indies Stafanie Taylor respectively.

ICC Awards 2015 Winners

Associate and Affiliate Cricketer of the Year was awarded to former UAE captain Khurram Khan. On the other Richard Kettleborough fetched the Umpire of the Year award for the third time in the row.


New Zealand’s captain Brendon McCullum got the Spirit of Cricket award. He will retire from the international cricket in February. He appreciated his teammates too for sportsmanship.

These awards and trophies have been distributed on the performance basis and voting was done in between the period of Sept. 18, 2014 to Sept. 13, 2015. In this time period, Smith made the most runs.

ICC Awards 2015 Winners

He scored a total of 1734 runs at an average of 82.57 in Tests while in ODI, he made 1249 runs in ODI at an average of 59.47. His leading performance made him to win the Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy for Cricketer of the Year.

While, in ODI, AB de Villiers made 1265 runs during this period at an average of 79.06 with a strike rate of 128.42. Hazlewood debuted in Test in December 2014 and took 40 wickets in that voting timeframe.

In the women cricket, Lanning made the most runs in ODI. She scored 531 runs at an average of 88.50, in T20 format, Taylor made 340 runs at an average of 42.50 and strike rate of 105.91.

ICC Awards 2015 Winners list

ICC Cricketer of the Year (Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy) – Steven Smith
Test Cricketer of the Year – Steven Smith
ODI Cricketer of the Year – AB de Villiers
Women’s ODI Cricketer of the Year – Meg Lanning
Women’s T20I Cricketer of the Year – Stafanie Taylor
T20I Performance of the Year – Faf du Plessis
Emerging Cricketer of the Year – Josh Hazlewood
Associate/Affiliate Cricketer of the Year – Khurram Khan
Spirit of Cricket Award – Brendon McCullum
Umpire of the Year (David Shepherd Trophy) – Richard Kettleborough

Previous articleStar Guild Awards 2015 Winners: See Full List, Bajirao Mastani, Bajrangi Bhaijaan Wins; Priyanka, Sonakshi Performs
Next articleBajirao Mastani 6th Day (6 Days) Collection: BM 1st Wednesday Box Office Report