GHMC Election Results 2016: TRS Won – Live Updates

GHMC Election Results 2016

GHMC Election Results 2016: The elections for the Greater Hyderabad Municipal Corporation was held earlier this week. Several political parties including Congress, BJP, TDP, AIMIM, and TRS participated in it with their candidates. (see: South Asian Games 2016.)

The counting of votes was to start at 8 am today, but due to some reasons, it was delayed. It ultimately started at 3 pm. A total number of 33,60,543 voters out of 74,23,980 cast their votes. The most surprising of all of those voters was the one who had the ID proof and name of Bollywood superstar Salman Khan. It was the strength test for the TRS party in Hyderabad. The party was in the news since its victory in the Warangal Lok Sabha elections.

GHMC Election Results 2016

After the delaying, the vote counting started at 3:30 pm in 24 centres for which the security was tightened across the city and especially the centres. After the first round of counting, TRS lead in Madhapur with 973 and Miyapoor with 458 votes. In Puranapul, re-voting was conducted which ended at 4:30 pm. 43% votes were registered.

Early reports suggested that TRT was winning and riding high on the vote counts with 102 seats. On the other hand, TDP the ally of NDA witnessed a major setback while the Congress was virtually wiped out.


The candidates who saw the major setbacks included Congress former mayor Kartheeka Reddy, Kondapur TRS candidate Hameed Patel won, Congress’ mayor candidate Vikram Goud lose, and former Hyderabad Mayor Banda Karthika Reddy lost the GHMC election. Till this point, TRT has already won 82, MIM 30, BJP 3, TDP 1, Congress 1, and others 0.

These elections are considered as one of the most prestigious battles. It is the first election carried out after the formation of Telangana out of Andhra Pradesh in 2014. Overall, the TRS party showed the terrific performance. They didn’t participate in the 2009 elections.

The party led by KCR managed to win only three seats at the Assembly out of 24 in 2009 elections in Andhra Pradesh. At the end, it is clearly a devastating loss to Congress. In the last session, Congress had won 55 seats.

GHMC Election Results 2016 Report – Party Wise

Parties Leading 2009 position 2016 Position
Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) 3 0 102
Telugu Desam Party (TDP) 3 45 1
Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) 0 5 3
All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen (MIM) 0 43 35
Congress (INC) 1 52 2
Others 0 5 0


Previous articleCapricorn Commanders vs Libra Legends Live Streaming Info: MCL 2016 Live Score; Cricket Match Preview – 5th February
Next articleSwaragini 5th February 2016 Friday Episode – Colors TV