Happy Chhath Puja 2016 Images Quotes: Wallpapers & Chath Pictures To Share On This Chhathi

Google+ Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr +

Happy Chhath Puja 2016 Images, HD Wallpapers, Pictures, Photos, Pics: Chhath also written as Chath is also known by the names छठ, छैठ, छठी, छठ पर्व, छठ पुजा, डाला छठ, डाला पुजा, सूर्य षष्ठी. Dedicated to the Hindu God Sun and Usha (the wife of Sun), this ancient festival is mainly celebrated by the people of North Bihar of India and Mithila State of Nepal.

The Chath Pooja is done to thank Surya Dev for sustaining life on the Earth and to seek blessings for future. This annual festival is observed by both Indian and Nepalese people and their diaspora. The Sun is believed to be the symbol or god of energy and life-force. Thus, it is worshiped during the Chhath festival to seek well-being, prosperity, and progress.

Happy Chhath Puja 2016 Images, HD Wallpapers, Pictures, Photos, Pics

chhath puja images

According to Hindu religion, the Sun worship helps in curing a variety of diseases, ensures longevity, and prosperity of family, friends, and elders. The festivities includes a very strict schedule which carries over four days and consists of fast, bath, water abstinence, standing in water for long hours and prayer offering (arghya) to the sunrise and sunset.

Check: Chhath Puja WhatsApp Status.

chhath pooja wallpapers

The festival is majorly celebrated in the regions of Mithila of Nepal, Terai-Madhesh of Nepal, Indian states of Bihar, Jharkhand, and eastern Uttar Pradesh. However, it is also observed in areas where the migrants of above states have a presence. Thus, all the northern regions of India bordering Nepal celebrate it.

Check: Chhath Puja Vidhi.

Happy Chhath Puja 2016 Images, HD Wallpapers, chhat puja Pictures, Photos, Pics

It is observed in nearly all the areas not exclusive to north India like northeast India, Madhya Pradesh, UP, Chhattisgarh, Chandigarh, Gujarat, Bangalore, and not limited to only India.

chhath pooja photos

It is also celebrated on a large scale in Mauritius, Fiji, South Africa, Trinidad and Tobago, Guyana, Suriname, Jamaica, other parts of the Caribbean, United States, United Kingdom, Republic of Ireland, Australia, New Zealand, Malaysia, Macau, Japan, and Indonesia.