IPL 2016 Opening Ceremony Live Streaming Info: Live Updates; Full Show and Star Performances Videos

IPL 2016 Opening Ceremony Live Streaming, Performances Videos: The India Premier League is all set to start its ninth season. Sponsored by Vivo, it is popular in media as Vivo IPL 9. On 8th April, i.e., it is going to open with its opening ceremony a day earlier to the first match of this season. (see: Ugadi 2016.)

The ceremony will be marked and embraced by famous celebrities – actors, singers, dancers, etc. It is scheduled to start at 7:30 pm IST at the Dome @ NSCI-SVP Stadium located in Mumbai. It is again hosted in India and players around the world will play in it. (check: IPL 2016 schedule.)

IPL 2016 Opening Ceremony Live Streaming

Live Updates:


21.47 IST: That’s it for the IPL opening ceremony. It was electrifying, enthusiastic and glamorous evening.

21.38 IST: Shweta Pandit performs Lean On and all the stars shake their leg

21.37 IST: The wait is over. Major Lazer group is here


21.17 IST: No, it’s not the end yet. He urges everyone present at the arena to dance along on Galla Goodiyan from the 2015 blockbuster Dil Dhadakne Do and Malhari from Bajirao Mastani

21.14 IST: Ranveer concludes with Tune Mari Entriyaan from his own film Gunde

21.12 IST: Ranveer makes a grand entry, donning the cricket attire.

21.10 IST: Showstopper for the evening Ranveer Singh is next on stage

21.08 IST: Kings XI Punjab co-owner Preity Zinta is looking ahead to the upcoming season. She hopes Miller continues to punish the bowlers this season too.

21.07 IST: David Miller wants to be known as ‘Chiller Miller’ not ‘Killer Miller’.

21.01 IST: An excited Harbhajan Singh praises all the performers and is looking forward to Saturday’s opening game between Mumbai Indians vs Rising Pune Supergiants.


20.50 IST: Guess who’s next! India’s superstar rapper Yo Yo Honey Singh performs on his superhit numbers


20.43 IST: Bollywood playback singer Ankit Tewari joins Bravo on the stage, with an Indian version of Champion — Hindustan Mein Bade Bade champion.

20.42 IST: He’s not done yet. Chalo Chalo is his next one

20.40 IST: And yes, Champion it is! The people – fans and fellow cricketers – are on their feet dancing to the tunes of Bravo’s chartbuster.

20.39 IST: Put your hands together for DJ Bravo.

20.28 IST: Katrina Kaif, in black tights and golden top, performs Dhoom Machale, Bang Bang and Afghan Jalebi.

20.16 IST: It’s time for captains to sign the Spirit of Cricket placard. They take turns to do the needful.


20.14 IST: IPL is not only about entertainment. It’s serious cricket. We will also see LED stumps this year. We will co-operate with drought situation in Maharashtra: Rajeev Shukla

20.08 IST: MS Dhoni, Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma, Zaheer Khan, David Miller, David Warner, Suresh Raina and Gautam Gambhir line up on the stage. IPL chairman Rajeev Shukla and BCCI secretary Anurag Thakur too join the captains on stage.

20.02 IST: It’s time for the captains of the all the eight teams to take the MCC Spirit of Cricket pledge.

19.50 IST: After a short break, Kings United group – world championship hip hop bronze medallists – comes to spice up the gala

19.40 IST: Jacqueline Fernandez ends her performance with ‘Sooraj Dooba‘ from Roy. The Sri Lanka beauty was simply fabulous

19.38 IST: Jacqueline Fernandez puts on her ‘Party shoes’

19.36 IST: Bollywood star Jacqueline Fernandez kick starts the ceremony. It’s Yaar Na Mile from the movie Kick

19.32 IST: The wait is over, finally!

19.26 IST: Katrina Kaif, Ranveer Singh, Jacqueline Fernandez and Yo Yo Honey Singh are ready to enthrall fans tonight.

19.16 IST: We are just minutes away from the opening ceremony. Get ready for an electrifying experience

18.50 IST: Pune Supergiants are ready for the opening ceremony as well. Check out Mahendra Singh Dhoni with his new jersey – not the yellow one this time.


18.45 IST: We are nearing the opening ceremony and Mumbai Indians players are all decked up for the big show tonight.


18.40 IST: The captains of the eight franchises have already arrived in Mumbai. They had attended a pre tournament briefing earlier today.


Where to watch live online

It is scheduled to kick off at 3 pm BST or 11 am ET. The viewers at their homes can catch the live updates on Set Max, Sony Six, Sony Six HD, Sony ESPN, and Sony ESPN HD.

Apart from the live telecast, the audience can IPL 2016 live stream it by downloading and watching it on Hotstar app and starsports.com.




A number of Bollywood celebrities have been roped in to perform on the opening night. Stars like Katrina Kaif, Ranveer Singh, Jacqueline Fernandez, and Yo Yo Honey Singh will entertain the viewers with their acting, dance, and singing performances.

“It’s #showday Vivo #IPL opening night!! #nervesarekickingin,” Jacqueline tweeted hours before her live performance.

IPL 2016 Opening Ceremony Live Streaming

Along with the Bollywood celebs, All girl English band TBC, more than 200 dancers, artists, and musicians will be present for the ceremony function. Tonight will also see American rapper Chris Brown live performance, American dancehall reggae trio Major Lazer, English rapper Fuse ODG, and Jamaican American recording artist Nailah Thorbourne.

“At IPL we treat the whole city like one scene and we bring everyone out for music, food, and just good energy all around. All of us in Major Lazer are excited to be back in India bringing the carnival to the fans,” music group Major Lazer said in a statement.

video of Bravo’s official champion song

Kings United dance group will also grace the night with its presence. There is going to be a lot more apart from what have been mentioned above. IPL 9 tickets are available at BookMyShow and Ticketgenie.

IPL 2016 Opening Ceremony Live Streaming

For IPL 9 Extraaa Innings show Shibani Dandekar and Archana Vijaya are out while Rochelle Rao and Pallavi Sharda have been roped in. The first match of IPL 2016 will be Mumbai vs Pune Supergiants on April 9 at 8 pm IST. The weekends matches will start at 4 pm.

Last time, IPL had 105 million viewers. Gujarat Lions and Rising Pune in place of Chennai Super Kings and Rajasthan Royals. Let’s catch IPL 9 opening ceremony updates.

Previous articlePermanent Roommates Season 2 Episode 4 review
Next articleTashan-e-Ishq 8th April 2016 Episode: Yuvi turned furious to claim Twinkle