Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratan Award 2016: Jitu Rai, Sindhu, Sakshi, Gita And Others To Receive Awards

Google+ Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr +

Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratan Award 2016: 24 hours after the Rio 2016 Olympics completed, the Government of India announced the names of players to confer awards. The awardee includes Olympics medallist PV Sindhu and Sakshi Malik and others.

More to receive the same are gymnast Dipa Karmakar who finished fourth and shooter Jitu Rai. This will be the first time when the biggest sporting award of the nation will be awarded to four athletes at the same time.

Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratan Award 2016

The names to be honored with the Dronacharya Award includes Bishweshwar Nandi, the coach of Dipa Karmakar, athlete Nagapuri Ramesh, boxer Sagar Mal Dhayal, cricketer Raj Kumar Sharma, swimmer S Pradeep Kumar, and wrestler Mahabir Singh.

There are more awards to be given. 15 sportspersons will get the Arjune award, and 3 people will be conferred the Dhyan Chand Award.

Along with all above, the Punjabi University of Patiala will be given the Maulana Abul Kalam Azad (MAKA) Trophy 2015-16.

The Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna awardee will get a medal, a citation, a cash prize of Rs 7.5 lakh each. The winners of the Arjuna, Dronacharya, and Dhyan Chand awards will get statuettes, certificates, and a cash price of Rs 5 lakh each.

Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratan Award 2016

Justice SK Agarwal (rtd. Delhi HC Judge) headed the selection committee for Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratan Award and the Arjuna Award. MC Mary Kom was the head of the selection committee for the Dronacharya Award and the Dhyan Chand Award.

The President of India Pranab Mukherjee will distribute the awards on August 29.

Full list of awardees:

Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award 2016

Name of awardeeDiscipline
P.V. SindhuBadminton
Sakshi MalikWrestling
Dipa KarmakarGymnastics
Jitu RaiShooting

Dronacharya Award 2016

Name of awardeeDiscipline
Nagapuri RameshAthletics
Sagar Mal DhayalBoxing
Raj Kumar SharmaCricket
Bishweshwar NandiGymnastics
S. Pradeep KumarSwimming (lifetime)
Mahabir SinghWrestling (lifetime)

Arjuna Award 2016

Name of awardeeDiscipline
Rajat ChauhanArchery
Lalita BabarAthletics
Sourav KothariBilliards and Snooker
Shiva ThapaBoxing
Ajinkya RahaneCricket
Subrata PaulFootball
V R RaghunathHockey
Gurpreet SinghShooting
Apurvi ChandelaShooting
Soumyajit GhoshTable Tennis
Vinesh PoghatWrestling
Amit KumarWrestling
Sandeep Singh MannPara-Athletics
Virender SinghWrestling (deaf)

Dhyan Chand Award 2015

Name of AwardeeDiscipline
Satti GeethaAthletics
Sylvanus Dung DungHockey
Rajendra Pralhad ShelkeRowing

Comments are closed.