Supermoon 2015 Live Streaming Information: Will Full Moon Cause Earthquakes, Volcanic Eruptions?

Supermoon 2015 Live: The science and sky lovers will witness something unique on Saturday night, August 29. The skywatchers will get to see the first ‘supermoon’ of the year.



NASA describes a supermoon as the situation the full moon is closest to the Earth. At such point of time, the moon appears 14% larger and 30% brighter than normal.

The moon comes within the range of 3.6 lakh kilometers (2.2 lakh miles) from the earth’s centre.



The moon’s situation going to appear on Saturday night will be represented on a special TV show ‘Slooh’ in which Paul Cox will be the anchor. The show will discuss various questions and theories regarding the supermoon like ‘What makes a supermoon’, ‘where the name supermoon comes from’, ‘difference between a supermoon and a megamoon’, etc.

Supermoon 2015 Live Stream

Interested people can watch the Supermoon 2015 live stream online on Slooh. It will be live streamed on the show using some robotic telescopes. Its telecast will start at 9:30 pm ET (Saturday) / 2:30 am BST (Sunday) / 7:00 am IST (Sunday). However, the full moon kicks off at 1:35 pm ET (Friday) / 6:35 pm BST (Saturday) / 11:05 pm IST (Saturday). The viewers may need to sign up on the official web portal to get the updates.

Gemma Lavender of the Royal Astronomical Society said that ‘supermoon’ is an important phenomenon for the lunar observers and science freaks, while talking to the Express.

“With the moon being closer to us than usual, and provided you have a clear night, observers should take advantage of the moon’s stunning lunar seas along with its beautiful craters and mountains, which can be observed with a binocular or a telescope. If you don’t own either of these, then the supermoon will still serve as a stunning sight to the naked eye,” said Lavender.

She slashed the rumors claiming that ‘supermoon’ might become a cause for the earthquakes, volcanic eruptions, tidal floods, etc. “There are claims that, with the moon getting closer to the earth, that there is an increased risk of events such as earthquakes and volcanic eruptions – this is false,” she added.

Comments are closed.

Open

Close